Is the Master Airbrush Cool Runner Dual-Fan Tank Compressor Worth It for Scale Models?
For a modeler who wants steady air at the brush, the Master Airbrush Cool Runner dual-fan compressor with storage tank (model TC-426) is worth serious consideration: per the Amazon listing it pairs a 1/5 horsepower single-piston pump with a 3-liter air storage tank, a true diaphragm air pressure regulator with gauge and a water trap filter, and it ships as a full kit with three airbrushes, two of them 0.3mm gravity-feed brushes. TCP Global, whose site carries the Master Airbrush product pages, adds on its page for the TC-426 that the tank "allows constant air pressure and zero pulsation". The things to weigh before buying are that no brush in the box has a tip finer than 0.3mm, that the hose length is stated differently across the two sources, and that neither source, as read, states a warranty term, a weight or dimensions.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
What comes in the box
This is sold as a full airbrushing system rather than a bare compressor. Per the listing, the system includes the Super Cool Runner dual-fan compressor with its 3-liter air storage tank, 3 Master airbrush styles, a 10-foot braided air hose, a 6-color acrylic paint kit, a double-sided color mixing wheel, a cleaning brush set, an instruction manual and an airbrush resource center access card.
TCP Global's page for the same kit describes the paint set in more detail: a "Primary Colors Water-Based Acrylic Airbrush Paint Kit (6 Colors in 1 oz. Bottles plus Reducer and Cleaner)", with the colors named as "bright sapphire blue, grass green, bright yellow, bright red, deep black and white". That page also lists an "airbrush holder for 2 airbrushes" and a "Quick Start Guide". The Amazon listing's bullets mention the manual and the access card but not a holder, so treat the holder as a TCP Global detail to confirm on the listing you order from.
One item reads differently across the sources. The Amazon listing states a 10-foot braided air hose. TCP Global's page for the TC-426 compressor sold on its own, not this kit, lists a "6-foot braided air hose", and TCP Global's kit page, as read, doesn't give a hose length at all. Those are two different packages, so this isn't necessarily a contradiction, but if hose length matters at your bench, confirm it on the listing before ordering.
The compressor: tank, regulator and two fans
Per the listing, the model TC-426 is a 1/5 horsepower single-piston compressor with 2 built-in cooling fans that operate independently: the top fan cools the upper piston head area, and the internal bottom fan cools the motor's rotor windings inside the body. The listing's framing is a longer run time and lifespan; TCP Global's compressor page puts a figure on the result, saying the unit "stays at about 100° Fahrenheit during operation", a number the Amazon listing does not give.
The 3-liter air storage tank appears on both sources. The listing calls it a "Large 3-Liter Air Storage Tank"; TCP Global's compressor page states that the tank "allows constant air pressure and zero pulsation". The Amazon listing makes no pulsation claim of its own. In practice a tank means the pump cycles on and off while the tank feeds the brush, which is what the preset figures describe. Per the listing, the compressor is preset for automatic turn-off when air pressure reaches 65 psi and for automatic turn-on at 51 psi. TCP Global's compressor page gives the same two numbers. Those are the pump's cut-out and cut-in points, not spraying pressures; you set the working pressure at the regulator, and our first-airbrush setup guide walks through choosing it.
Airflow is stated identically on both sources: 25 liters/minute (0.85 cfm). Pressure control, per the listing, comes from a true diaphragm air pressure regulator with gauge and a water trap filter. TCP Global's compressor page says the regulator "enables complete, precise adjustment control of operating pressure and consistent airflow" and that the water trap "ensures clean, moisture-free dry air". Both sources describe the pump as maintenance-free and oil-less, and both put noise at 47 dB, which the listing simply calls quiet. TCP Global's compressor page adds a "built-in carrying handle" and calls the unit "portable, lightweight, compact", without a weight or dimensions; the Amazon listing's bullets don't give those either.
For model work this is the combination that matters: a gauge to set spraying pressure, a trap to keep condensation out of the paint line, and a tank to smooth the air between pump cycles. Our compressor roundup for miniatures and Gunpla explains why each of the three earns its place.
The three airbrushes
Per the listing, the kit includes three Master airbrush styles:
- Model G22: dual-action, 1/3 oz. gravity feed fluid cup, 0.3mm tip.
- Model G34: dual-action, 1/16 oz. gravity feed fluid cup, 0.3mm tip.
- Model E91: single-action siphon feed, 0.8mm tip, with two 3/4 oz. siphon feed fluid bottles.
TCP Global's kit page lists the same three models with the same cup sizes and tips. Read as a set, that gives you two gravity-feed brushes that differ in cup size rather than nozzle size, plus a siphon-feed brush for broad coverage. For Gunpla and scale models the two 0.3mm gravity brushes share the tip size and differ in cup: the 1/16 oz. cup on the G34 holds less paint than the 1/3 oz. cup on the G22. The E91's bottle feed is a different way of working, and gravity feed versus siphon feed covers when the bottle is the better tool and when it just adds cleaning.
No tip finer than 0.3mm appears in the listing: the three tips listed are 0.3mm, 0.3mm and 0.8mm. If you expect to spend most of your time on fine mottling or pre-shading small panels, that is a gap to know about going in, though the two cup sizes give you some flexibility within the 0.3mm size.
The paint set and the extras
Per the listing, the kit includes a 6-color acrylic paint kit, a double-sided color mixing wheel, a cleaning brush set, an instruction manual and an airbrush resource center access card; the listing's title calls the paints "6 Primary Opaque Colors". TCP Global's kit page fills in the paints as six 1 oz. bottles plus a reducer and a cleaner, in bright sapphire blue, grass green, bright yellow, bright red, deep black and white.
For scale models, six primaries are a practice set rather than a hobby palette: primers, the specific colors a kit calls for and panel-line shades are separate purchases. Neither source states whether the included paints are pre-thinned for airbrushing, so start with the reducer TCP Global lists and thin to the consistency your first sprays call for. The mixing wheel and the cleaning brushes are the kind of extras a first kit should have.
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | TCP Global's pages |
|---|---|---|
| Compressor model | TC-426 | TC-426 |
| Motor | 1/5 horsepower, single-piston | 1/5 hp, single-piston |
| Cooling | 2 built-in cooling fans (top and internal bottom) | 2 built-in dual cooling fans; "stays at about 100° Fahrenheit during operation" |
| Air storage tank | 3-liter | 3-liter; "constant air pressure and zero pulsation" |
| Airflow | 25 liters/minute (0.85 cfm) | 25 liters/minute (0.85 cfm) |
| Auto on / off | On at 51 psi, off at 65 psi | On at 51 psi, off at 65 psi |
| Pressure control | True diaphragm regulator with gauge; water trap filter | True diaphragm regulator with gauge; water trap filter |
| Noise | 47 dB | 47 dB |
| Maintenance | Oil-less, maintenance-free | Oil-less, maintenance-free |
| Hose | 10-foot braided | 6-foot braided on the compressor-only page; not stated on the kit page |
| Airbrushes | G22 (0.3mm, 1/3 oz.), G34 (0.3mm, 1/16 oz.), E91 (0.8mm siphon, two 3/4 oz. bottles) | Same three models, cups and tips |
| Paints | 6-color acrylic kit | 6 colors in 1 oz. bottles plus reducer and cleaner |
| Airbrush holder | Not mentioned | Holder for 2 airbrushes |
| Extras | Mixing wheel, cleaning brush set, manual, access card | Mixing wheel, cleaning brush set, Quick Start Guide, access card |
| Carrying handle | Not mentioned | Built-in carrying handle |
| Weight and dimensions | Not stated | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
What stands out
- A 3-liter storage tank. Both sources state the 3-liter tank; TCP Global's page is the one that claims constant pressure and zero pulsation.
- A true diaphragm regulator with gauge and a water trap filter, per both sources.
- Two 0.3mm gravity-feed brushes with different cup sizes, plus a 0.8mm siphon brush, per the listing.
- 47 dB, oil-less and maintenance-free, per both sources.
- A complete box: hose, paints, mixing wheel, cleaning brushes and a manual, per the listing.
Where it might not fit
- No tip finer than 0.3mm is listed: the tips are 0.3mm, 0.3mm and 0.8mm.
- Hose length differs by source: 10-foot on the Amazon listing, 6-foot on TCP Global's compressor-only page.
- No stated weight, dimensions or warranty term on either source as read.
- The six paints are primaries, per the listing's title. A model palette is a separate purchase.
- The airbrush holder appears only on TCP Global's page, not in the Amazon listing's bullets.
Verdict
Worth it for a modeler who wants the compressor side of the hobby settled in one purchase. The parts of this kit that matter most for scale models — the 3-liter tank, the true diaphragm regulator with gauge, the water trap filter, the 25 liters/minute airflow and the 47 dB noise figure — are stated the same way on the Amazon listing and on TCP Global's page for the TC-426, and the two 0.3mm gravity-feed brushes are the right starting nozzle size for Gunpla and plastic kits. The open questions are small and checkable: hose length, whether the holder ships in the Amazon package, and the absence of a stated warranty. Check the current price of the Master Airbrush Cool Runner tank compressor kit on Amazon and read the current listing's bullets for the hose and holder before you order.
Where to buy: Check the current price on Amazon.
Sources
- TCP Global — product page "1/5 HP Super Cool Runner Dual Fan Tank Air Compressor Kit Model TC-426", accessed October 2026.
- TCP Global — product page "Super Cool Runner Dual Fan Air Compressor with Storage Tank - Airbrushing System Kit with 3 Airbrushes, 6 Color Acrylic Paint Art Set", accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the Master Airbrush Cool Runner Dual Fan Air Compressor with Storage Tank airbrushing system kit (title, brand and feature bullets).
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
A quick, honest note: some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them, and we also earn from other programs such as eBay Partner Network — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay.
Questions builders ask
Is the Master Airbrush Cool Runner dual-fan compressor with a storage tank worth it for scale models?
Yes, if you want a tank, a regulator with gauge and a water trap in one kit with brushes included. Per the Amazon listing and TCP Global's page, the TC-426 compressor delivers 25 liters/minute at 47 dB, cycles between 51 and 65 psi, and comes with two 0.3mm gravity-feed airbrushes and a 0.8mm siphon-feed brush. The gap for detail painters is that no tip finer than 0.3mm is included.
Does the Cool Runner TC-426 have an air storage tank?
Yes. Per the listing it has a 3-liter air storage tank, and TCP Global's page says the tank "allows constant air pressure and zero pulsation".
What airbrushes come with the kit?
Per the listing: a Model G22 dual-action with a 1/3 oz. gravity feed cup and 0.3mm tip, a Model G34 dual-action with a 1/16 oz. gravity feed cup and 0.3mm tip, and a Model E91 single-action siphon feed with a 0.8mm tip and two 3/4 oz. bottles.
How loud is the Cool Runner tank compressor?
Both the listing and TCP Global's page put it at 47 dB, and both describe it as oil-less and maintenance-free.
How long is the air hose?
The Amazon listing states a 10-foot braided air hose. TCP Global's page for the compressor sold on its own lists a 6-foot braided hose, and its kit page doesn't state a length, so confirm the hose on the listing you buy from.





